Trisha-friendly

It’s been a hell of a week — Eric was hunting in central Oregon (the elk continue to survive), Johanna has a ridiculous activity schedule, and work can best be described as “challenging” at this particular juncture in time. But I DID IT. And I only had one anxiety attack, which is a miracle. Because I am a creature who lives by her routines, and they were completely disrupted all week long.

DSC_0971

I don’t really have art for this post so here’s some pumpkins and apples.

I credit a couple of things to this:

I have been eating very, very well for my gut — more on that below — and I have been very, very good about keeping to the parameters of my social media habit re-do. Both of these have contributed to an overall sense of well-being.

For me, social media is a gateway drug to wasting time online. I have unfollowed and unfriended (and hidden when neither of those were an option) so. many. people and sites. and it doesn’t take long for me to actually go through any of my accounts — a quick check to see what Thoughts of Dog is up to and what hilarity can be found on Man Who Has It All on Twitter, then over to Instagram for pictures of kittens and babies, maybe a scroll through Facebook … but after THAT, it’s like a free for all. Any new emails at home? No? How about at work? What’s going on in the news? I’ve been meaning to look for a new book … which is why I’m over here checking out weather reports and what new pins Pinterest has chosen for me and laughing at cat memes.

And then three hours have passed.

But not this week! I was a tiny bit afraid that while I waiting for Johanna at her various activities I’d turn to social media just to kill time, but I solved THAT problem by leaving my iPod at home. BOOM. Also, introvert tip: If you pull out your laptop and open a Word doc and start typing, everyone leaves you alone because they think you’re working.

As far as the food front goes, I have made some progress since my rant a couple of weeks ago. I have learned that spelt tortillas are not for me, but I have also learned that butternut squash soup IS.

And what is a Trisha-friendly butternut squash soup? Observe:

  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 chopped medium onion

Saute the onion in butter until translucent, then add:

  • 2-3 pound butternut squash, cut into 1-inch chunks (or, like, whatever my knife deems appropriate, details are boring)
  • 32 ounces of chicken broth

Add butternut squash and broth to onions and simmer 15-20 minutes or until tender. Puree and add back to pot; season with:

  • Nutmeg, salt and pepper

… To taste.

I mean, that’s pretty boring and basic, but my gut seems to think it’s awesome, and it tastes good, too, which is more than I can say for a lot of what I eat. AND it’s low waste as far as trash and plastic go, so even better.

I made this again this weekend and froze three 2-cup servings. I have learned that having a stash of meals is important and necessary. And it also means that Eric and Johanna can have pasta for dinner and I’m not tempted to compromise because I’m starving.

I also made hamburger patties and baked sweet potatoes for another couple of freezer meals. I’m not a big meat eater, but beef, chicken, pork and eggs are all safe, so … I guess now I am a big meat eater. We’ll concentrate on the fact that THAT is also low waste (meat counter visit with a container, bulk sweet potatoes) to ease my conscience.

So we’re getting there is what I’m saying.

5 thoughts on “Trisha-friendly

  1. Roberta says:

    Yay for food! And improving your routine!

    It’s kind of a sad statement on people that they’ll let you work, but not do things for yourself. But it’s good that you’ve made that work for you.

    I’d love to know what else you can eat. Apples? Spinach? Your butternut squash soup reminds me of the book “7” by Jen Hatmaker. She starts by limiting her diet to 7 things, to appreciate the things she usually has, and she has a revelatory moment when she can have soup.

    Like

    • Trisha Walker says:

      Ha ha, true — we’ve got a messed up sense of work in the US, I think. I WAS working, but on fun stuff … trying to decide if I want to do December Wishes again this year and playing around with what that might look like. Not my fault if everyone else thought it was newspaper stuff. Um, which I may or may not have implied … 😉

      I cannot eat apples or pears (which is a bummer because I love both), but I do great with berries and citrus (which seems weird to me because of the acid, but whatever. Am currently enjoying bulk tangerines). Yes to spinach and lettuces, oats, sunflower seed butter, zucchini, rice and couscous, carrots, cucumbers … No to peanuts and almonds, but I seem to do okay with pecans and have found a cracker that’s pecan-based that’s pretty tasty. Cheddar and parmesan are fine. Um … there’s a certain brand of gluten-free bread I do okay with if I don’t eat it every day, and the same goes for plain potato chips. That’s WAY more than seven things, so I’m feeling pretty good about myself at the moment, LOL. I am going to go look for that book, sounds interesting.

      P.S. This weekend I had a toasted cheese sandwich and butternut squash soup, and I about cried because I was so happy. Grilled cheese and tomato soup is a fall favorite of mine, and while this wasn’t QUITE that, it wasn’t bad. Mostly it’s the food ritual that’s the important thing.

      Like

  2. Linda M says:

    Glad it was a good week….reason to celebrate your success…even if you did struggle a tad. Have you looked at the list of LowFodMap foods….it is a good starting point for someone with IBS…?not perfect but a few suggestions what might make your gut yell and scream at you. Just a suggestion.
    Hope this week is more normal….whatever that is for all of us:)…ha! Sending and encouraging hug!

    Like

    • Trisha Walker says:

      I have! I agree, a good starting point. There are a few things on the avoid list that I do just fine with (onions, celery, avocado, couscous). Likewise with the okay list (broccoli, corn, tomatoes, cantaloupe — all of those are great big noes for me). But when you don’t know where to start, at least this gives you an idea.

      Yeah, what is normal? 😉 So far so good!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.